top of page

The Reason I Am, Me

Tena Koutou

Quick note about me.

It all starts with these two people you see in these photos. My koroua (grandparents).

They are the reason i do what i do, and behave the way i behave.

My mum has a lot to do with that also but since they raised her i figured i will take it back to the main roots. She got it from them, me her, and me them... so i received double goodness

I grew up in a small town called Maketu in the north island of Aotearoa (New Zealand)

My very first memory had my grandparents in them, anything they did, i did.

I was the right hand man of my Grandmother who we call Gam. She is one special lady, my best friend, my mum, sister, everything wrapped into one.

She taught me many life lessons, to draw, read, cook, bake, knit, garden, weave, pickle. You name it we did it.

Then there is my koro ( my grandfather) he is like my dad, he taught me to draw, helped me read, hugged me when i hurt myself, and showed me how to ride a bike... pretty much anything dads did he did, for me.

The best years of my life have been spent with these two, and i have been lucky to have received their love over the years. Having two lots of parents is pretty damn wicked.

Their influence on me has been major!

I will always have them in my thoughts, wherever i travel and whatever i do in life.

They have had my back since day one, and i will never stop having theirs.

Growing up and looking around i am saddened at the way we treat our kaumatua ( Elders)

Be good to your elders, there is so much you can learn and gain from having them in your world. I know mine is better because of them.

Thank you both for loving me the way you love love me

Mauri Ora

bottom of page